Photo: Dan Carpenter Jr. of Keewaydin




Photo: Fred Reimers of Keewaydin

Dan Carpenter, Jr

Photo: D. Carpenter

         Fred Reimers

Photo: Will Reimers


  Directors Owners
1894-1896 Clarke Clarke
1897 Clarke Clarke, Ernie Wells
1898-1901 Clarke Clarke, Wells, Sumner Hooper
1902 Clarke Clarke, Wells
1903 Clarke Clarke, Wells, George Creelman, Alfred Hall
1904-1921 Clarke Keewaydin Camps, Ltd. shareholders 1
1922-1925 William Douglas Keewaydin Camps, Ltd. shareholders 2
1926-1938 William K. Gunn Keewaydin Camps, Ltd. shareholders
1938-1946 Gunn Gunn, Creelman 3
1947 Gunn Thomas-Jones Foundation 4
1948-1960 Howard P. Chivers Thomas-Jones Foundation
1961-1974 Chivers Chivers
1975 Fred Reimers, Chivers Fred Reimers
1976-1990 Reimers Reimers
1991-1995 Dan Carpenter Jr., 

Bill Carpenter 5

Joseph G. Fogg III, Lewis Lehrman
1996 Dan Carpenter Jr. Fogg, Lehrman
1997 Carpenter, Brooks MacMillen Fogg, Lehrman
1998-2000 MacMillen Fogg, Lehrman
2001 MacMillen Keewaydin Foundation 6
2002 Doug Mosle Keewaydin Foundation


1  Ownership spread among staff who invested or received shares as a recruiting commission. The camp is incorporated into Keewaydin Camps, Ltd. and Clarke retained 52% ownership. Among the directors were Clarke, Wells, Creelman, Gunn, Chess Kittredge, Doc Harter, Gertrude Clarkson, Stephen Breed,  and Douglas. 

2  Clarke remained president and controlling shareholder until his resignation during the 1925 season. Speedy Rush purchased Clarke's shares and became new General Director of the corporation.

3  Ownership of the Temagami operations (Temagami camp, Ojibway and Devil's Island) passes to Keewaydin Camps, Ltd., a Canadian corporation. Gunn and Creelman hold the shares. To date, it has remained the corporate entity owning the camp.

4  A U.S. non-profit, educational foundation.

5  Although Bill Carpenter's title was associate director and Dan's was director, the brothers functioned in many ways as co-directors.

6  The Keewaydin Foundation is a Vermont, non-profit 501(c)3 corporation that purchased Camp Keewaydin on Lake Dunmore in 1983. Today it also operates Camp Songadeewin, Keewaydin Wilderness Canoe Trips and the Keewaydin Environmental Education Center, all based on Lake Dunmore, Vermont. On April 4, 2001, Fogg and Lehrman donated their ownership to the Foundation. Both received positions on the Foundation board with Fogg becoming Vice Chairman.

  Director Nickname(s)
Clarke Commodore
Douglas Sultan
Gunn Major, Father (pre-1920)
Creelman Colonel
Chivers Chief
Reimers Major

KEEWAYDIN WAY:   Home   Long Trips   Outpost List

OTTERTOOTH:   Home   Rupert Battle   Rupert River   Temagami   Forum   Crees   Camps  

                          Canoes   Keewaydin Way   Che-Mun   Search   About   Contact Us

Maps and information herein are not intended for navigational use, and are not represented to be correct in every respect. 
All pages intended for reference use only, and all pages are subject to change with new information and without notice. 
The author/publisher accepts no responsibility or liability for use of the information on these pages. 
Wilderness travel and canoeing possess inherent risk. 
 It is the sole responsibility of the paddler and outdoor traveler to determine whether he/she is qualified for these activities.
Copyright  2000-2013 Brian Back.  All rights reserved.
We do not endorse and are not responsible for the content of any linked document on an external site.